MetaCase Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > > MetaEdit+
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Exporting graph to XML

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mafkees01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Exporting graph to XML
    Posted: 20.Jan.2012 at 17:19
Hello,

I have a question. I'm new to MetaEdit+ and I'm looking for a solution for my problem. I already e-mailed but still need some more help due to difficulties.

I have a custom graph type which I use for developing models. After the creation, I want to export the model to XML. Rather than exporting each graph to XML via the menu, I prefer a button in the graph toolbar that allows me to export the model to XML directly. When the model is exported, I want to execute a program (that is installed on my pc) that reads the just generated XML file.

Through mail I got the solution to use MERL for this and create custom constructs, however I still do not really know where to start. Hence is my question if can someone help me a little bit more. Is this possible and if so, how?

Thank you in advance!
stevek View Drop Down
MetaCase
MetaCase

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stevek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20.Jan.2012 at 17:39
Create a new generator called '!XML' - the ! means it will be shown as a button in the diagram editor toolbar.

The start of the generator will export the model to a .mxm file - MetaEdit+'s XML model format:

filename id '.mxm' print

Next you want to execute a program, let's say processXML.exe, with the new file as a parameter enclosed in double quotes:

external 'processXML.exe "' id '.mxm"' execute

Both these commands start and end with a keyword, and between the keywords we build up the filename or command.